Marine Mammals Committee

Committee Members: R. L. Brownell, Jr., J. P. Dines (Chair), K. Dudzinski, H. H. Edwards, J. Lapseritis, T. J. McIntyre, D. K. Odell, T. J. O'Shea, C. W. Potter, and S. Sheffield.

Mission:

The marine mammals committee was formed in 1921 and Chaired by E. W. Nelson. It is the longest-standing active committee of the American Society of Mammalogists. Its mission is to maintain and encourage interest in marine mammals in the ASM, to provide the Society membership with information about marine mammalogy, including conservation and legislative issues, to spearhead resolutions and legislation involving marine mammals, and to serve as a liaison between ASM and the Society for Marine Mammalogy (SMM). Members of the Marine Mammals Committee are frequently active in both ASM and SMM.

Information Items:

(1) Members of the Committee have monitored and communicated with each other over the course of the year on issues pertinent to the conservation of marine mammals.

Action Items: None.

Respectfully submitted, James P. Dines (jdines@nhm.org)